The viaLibri website requires cookies to work properly. You can find more information in our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Recently found by viaLibri....

[Op. 42]. Autograph musical quotation signed in full
1 page, 123 x 62 mm., cut from a larger sheet of music manuscript paper. Dated July 11, 1942. The first four measures of Schoenberg's Piano Concerto, op. 42, right hand of piano part. Notated in ink. Inscribed and signed: "Autograph to Mr Kenneth Griffith by Arnold Schoenberg." . An early, thus far unrecorded, musical autograph of the work. Schoenberg began writing the short score just the day before. The present autograph matches the final version. We have been unable to locate any biographical information on Kenneth Griffith. "Schönberg's Piano Concerto, op. 42, which was originally commissioned by his former student Oscar Levant, is conceived as a single-movement form displaying the characteristics of a multimovement sonata cycle. Like the program of the concerto it divides into four parts. The opening melody of the Concerto, lasting thirty-nine bars, presents the four modes of the tone row in the following order: basic set, inversion of retrograde, retrograde, and inversion... The manuscript includes the four parts of the programme (which - according to Schönberg scholarship - is clearly autobiographical), each accompanied by a musical example from one of the four sections of the concerto. The first statement of the programme [is] 'Life was so easy.' " Website of the Arnold Schönberg Center, Vienna.
      [Bookseller: J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians LLC]
Last Found On: 2015-06-17           Check availability:      Biblio    


Browse more rare books from the year 1942

      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     563 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service      Privacy     

Copyright © 2019 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.