Recently found by viaLibri....
2021-01-11 23:41:10
George Eliot
The Selected Works of George Eliot
William Blackwood and Sons c1857-1879, Edinburgh; London. A ten volume library set of the selected works of celebrated Victorian writer George Eliot aka Mary Ann Evans. Mary Ann Evans was one of the leading novelists and poets of the Victorian era, perhaps better known by the pen name George Eliot which she used to have her work judged separately from both her prior work as an editor and critic and to shield her private life from public scrutiny. Renowned for the political, psychological, and realist themes in her work, Evans was much praised, particularly for her depiction of rural life, and her novel 'Middlemarch' is often cited as one of the greatest novels in the English language. In this library set are the works: 'Scenes of Clerical Life', 1857, 'Adam Bede', 1859, 'The Mill on the Floss', 1860, 'Silas Marner', 1861, 'Romala', 1863, 'Felix Holt, the Radical', 1866, 'Middlemarch', 1872, 'The Spanish Gypsy' ('The Legend of Jubal'), 1874, 'Daniel Deronda', 1876, and 'Impressions of Theophrastus Such', 1879. Undated; dated from copac. Monochrome frontispieces to each volume. A prominent and successful writer, Mary Ann Evans established herself as a great literary master of the time with these works, her writing not having been dulled by time. In attractive green half calf binding with green cloth boards. Externally, very smart, with only some shelfwear to the head and tails of the spines and extremities. Internally, all volumes firmly bound. 'The Mill on the Floss' is missing the first 16 pages of the novel, but do not appear to have been removed, rather omitted in the bin … [Click Below for Full Description]
Bookseller: Rooke Books PBFA [Bath, United Kingdom]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1857