Recently found by viaLibri....
2021-01-06 22:24:36
W H Bartlett
The Scenery and Antiquities of Ireland
George Virtue, London, 1841. A beautifully illustrated two volumes on Ireland by noted artist W H Bartlett. The first edition of this work, which is one of a wider series of engraved works. The first edition of this work.?Undated, dated using Library Hub.?Plate 'Bray' from volume II is bound in volume I.? Volume II has an additional plate 'Monument of General Ross'. The plate 'Old Weir Bridge' is bound at page 126 of volume II rather than page 26.?Rebacked, with contemporary cloth boards preserved. The boards to this work are beautifully tooled with a peacock design.Collated, complete.?The plates to this volume are from illustrations by W H Bartlett. William Henry Bartlett was a British artist best known for his numerous steel engravings.Accompanying the plates is a comprehensive historical and descriptive text by J Stirling Coyne and N P Willis. Nathaniel Parker Willis was an American author, poet and editor who worked with several notable American writers. Joseph Stirling Coyne was a humorist and satirist in the tradition of Jonathan Swift and Alexander Pope. He worked as a journalist, contributing many humorous pieces to many widely circulated journals and newspapers. In a quarter calf binding with blind tooled cloth boards. Rebacked, with contemporary boards preserved. Externally, very smart with patches of light rubbing to the boards. Internally, firmly bound. Pages are generally bright. Scattered spots to pages, heavier to the plates. Very Good [Attributes: First Edition; Hard Cover]
Bookseller: Rooke Books PBFA [Bath, United Kingdom]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri

LINK TO THIS PAGE: https://www.vialibri.net/years/books/280108519/1841-w-h-bartlett-the-scenery-and-antiquities-of-ireland

Browse more rare books from the year 1841