Recently found by viaLibri....
2021-01-04 18:42:51
Sir Walter Scott
The Waverley Novels
Adam and Charles Black, London, 1871. Twenty-five volumes of the centenary edition of the Waverley novels by Sir Walter Scott. With an illustrated frontispiece to every volume and a facsimile of 'The Marriage Contract of the Bride of Lammermoor' to volume VIII. Collated, complete. The titles included are as follows: Volume I- Waverley Volume II- Guy Mannering Volume III- Antiquary Volume IV- Rob Roy Volume V- Old Mortality Volume VI- A Legend of Montrose and Black Dwarf Volume VII- Heart of Mid-Lothian Volume VIII-Bride of Lammermoor Volume IX- Ivanhoe Volume X- Monastery Volume XI- Abbot Volume XII- Kenilworth Volume XIII- Pirate Volume XIV- Fortunes of Nigel Volume XV- Peveril of the Peak Volume XVI- Quentin Durward Volume XVII- St Ronan's Well Volume XVIII- Redgauntlet Volume XIX- Betrothed and Highland Widow Volume XX- Talisman Volume XXI- Woodstock Volume XXII- Fair Maid of Perth Volume XXIII- Anne of Geierstein Volume XXIV- Count Robert of Paris Volume XXV- Castle Dangerous Surgeons Daughter The Waverley novels are a long series of novels by Sir Walter Scott. They were the most popular and widely read novels in Europe for almost a century. The series was titled Waverley, after the first novel of the series, as Scott did not claim authorship until 1827. Prior to Scott's acknowledgement of his authorship the novels were stated as 'by the author of Waverley' to their title pages. Sir Walter Scott was a historical novelist, playwright and poet. Aside from his writings he was an advocate, judge and legal administrator. In half morocco bindings with gilt stamping to the spi … [Click Below for Full Description]
Bookseller: Rooke Books PBFA [Bath, United Kingdom]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1871