Recently found by viaLibri....
2021-01-02 02:45:03
Brahms, Johannes
The First Four Symphonies, Opus 68, 73, 90, 98, The Orchestral Scores.
N. Simrock 1877-86, Berlin. The first four symphonies. Opus 68, 73, 90, 98, the orchestral scores, Quarto, bound in full morocco, gilt titles and tooling to the spine, front and rear panels, inner dentelles, all edges gilt, marbled endpapers. First Symphony (plate 7957), is first printing, conforming to McCorkle; the balance appear to be early printings. In near fine condition. Rare and desirable. Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68, is a symphony written by Johannes Brahms. Brahms spent at least fourteen years completing this work, whose sketches date from 1854. Brahms himself declared that the symphony, from sketches to finishing touches, took 21 years, from 1855 to 1876. The premiere of this symphony, conducted by the composer's friend Felix Otto Dessoff, occurred on 4 November 1876, in Karlsruhe, then in the Grand Duchy of Baden. Brahms began composing a D minor symphony in 1854, but this work underwent radical change before much of it was finally recast as his first Piano Concerto, also in D minor.[4] The long gestation of the C minor Symphony which would eventually be his first, may be attributed to two factors. First, Brahms' self-critical fastidiousness led him to destroy many of his early works. Second, there was an expectation from Brahms' friends and the public that he would continue "Beethoven's inheritance" and produce a symphony of commensurate dignity and intellectual scope - an expectation that Brahms felt he could not fulfill easily in view of the monumental reputation of Beethoven. It was probably 1868 when Brahms finally realized what would become the final … [Click Below for Full Description]
Bookseller: Raptis Rare Books, ABAA/ ILAB [Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1877