Recently found by viaLibri....
2020-11-12 10:39:03
SCHOENBERG, Arnold 1874-1951
[Op. 23]. Fünf Klavierstücke
København & Leipzig: Wilhelm Hansen [PN 18298], [1924], ©1923. Small folio. Original decorative green wrappers. 20 pp. "Zweite Auflage" to upper wrapper; publisher's catalogue to lower. Reproduction of portrait photograph to title. Previously from the collection of pianist and composer Erich Itor Kahn, with his signature ("EIKahn") in pencil and handstamp "Erich Itor & Frida Kahn Collections" to upper. Fingering, notational corrections, and other annotations in pencil by Erich Itor Kahn. Musicseller's handstamp to upper. Together with: Another copy of the same edition, unsigned and without Firnberg stamp but with additional annotations to the score in Kahn's hand. Both copies slightly worn and browned; other minor defects. First Edition, second issue. Rufer (E), p. 42. The first issue was published in November 1923. Erich Itor Kahn (1905-1956) studied at the Hoch'sches Konservatorium in Frankfurt. An early champion of Schoenberg, he gave the world premiere of the composer's piano piece op. 33a; he also studied the present op. 23 cycle early on. The notational corrections are of particular interest. The waltz concluding the cycle, first sketched in 1921, is considered the earliest example of Schoenbergian twelve-note composition.

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1924