Recently found by viaLibri....
2020-10-06 09:13:00
THOMAS, Augusta Read b. 1964
Avian Capriccio. Autograph map of form.
Oblong folio (280 x 432 mm). Executed in multi-coloured inks and signed by the composer to lower right corner. Commissioning information and title to top of page: "Commissioned by Axiom Brass in celebration of their 10th Anniversary / Avian Capriccio, for Brass Quintet / Movement I: Hummingbirds" with a bright, whimsical illustration of a green and yellow hummingbird with colorful music notes around its mouth. Map of form is built along a timeline in black with timelines numbered 0-4.5. Below the line, written descriptions of the musical changes in purple such as "Playful + Energized", "Jumpy + Spontaneous", "Fanciful + bebop-like." Above the line, arching lines over discrete sections with graphic and rhythmic representations of the music in five main colors for the five brass instruments plus red, dark blue, brown, and black to denote further details. First performance by the Axiom Brass on September 16, 2016 "The music of Augusta Read Thomas ... is majestic, it is elegant, it is lyrical, it is "boldly considered music that celebrates the sound of the instruments and reaffirms the vitality of orchestral music." Philadelphia Inquirer "Born in Glen Cove, New York, Thomas was appointed University Professor of Composition at the University of Chicago in 2011. University Professors are selected for internationally recognized eminence in their fields as well as for their potential for high impact across the University. Thomas became the 16th person ever to hold a University Professorship. Additionally, she was the Mead Composer-in-Residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (C … [Click Below for Full Description]

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 2016