Recently found by viaLibri....
2020-09-26 00:25:02
The Original Collier Trophy, Awarded to Inventor William Lear for his Invention of the First Jet Autopilot According to the New York Times, Lear became known in the aviation industry as ""having contributed more to the safety of flying than any other man of his era."
1949. William Lear <blockquote><p>The list of Collier winners represents a virtual who's who in aviation, as many of the awards mark major events in the history of flight</p><p> </p><p>Very few have ever reached the market; this was acquired directly from Lear's descendants and has never before been offered for sale</p></blockquote><p>The Robert J. Collier Trophy is awarded annually ""for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year."" The list of Collier winners represents a timeline of aviation, as many of the awardees mark major events in the history of flight.</p><p><iframe src="""" width=""640"" height=""360"" frameborder=""0"" allowfullscreen=""allowfullscreen""></iframe></p><p>In addition to being an aviator, humanitarian, and sportsman, Robert Collier was a prominent publisher whose family created the popular Colliers Weekly. While President of the Aero Club of America, National Chapter (now the National Aeronautic Association), Collier commissioned the trophy in 1910 with the intent to encourage the American aviation community to strive for excellence and achievement in aeronautic development. The 525 pound trophy was commissioned of Baltimore sculptor Ernest Wise Keyser and was originally called the Aero Club Trophy. It was officially renamed the Robert J. Collier Trophy in 1944 and put on per … [Cliquez ci-dessous pour une description complète]
Vendeur: The Raab Collection [United States]
Vérifiez la disponibilité

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1949