Recently found by viaLibri....
2020-05-20 16:55:08
STRICKLAND, Agnes [& Elizabeth].
Lives of the Queens of England, from the Norman Conquest; with anecdotes of their courts, now first published from official records and other authentic documents, private as well as public.
London: Henry Colburn, 1840-48. 12 volumes, octavo (188 x 116 mm). Rebound to style in 20th-century tan half calf, twin red and black spine labels, raised bands, gilt-tooled floral motifs to compartments, yellow marbled boards, endpapers, and edges. Bookplates of Georgina Gertrude Foster (illustrated by T. Rough) to front pastedowns of vols. I, VII-XII; ownership signatures of Agnes Cubitt and G. G. Foster, Southwold to front free endpaper versos of vols. I and III respectively. Contents clean excepting the occasional instance of foxing, some vols. more toned than others. A very good set, uniformly bound. Engraved frontispiece and facing vignette title page to each volume, numerous facsimile signatures and drawings in text. First edition of the Strickland sisters' best-known work, an important landmark in the development of the biographical genre. By the early 1830s Agnes (1796-1874) and Elizabeth Strickland (1794-1875), each in their own right enjoying successful literary careers, chose to move towards "a new field of authorship, popular history: they had decided to collaborate on a series of biographies of the queens of England. By the early 1830s Agnes and Elizabeth were devoting part of the morning to reading historical manuscripts in the British Museum Library, with instruction in palaeography from the staff. 'Facts not opinions' was the motto adopted by the sisters, and their manuscript research was both pioneering and intensive" (ODNB). They lobbied politicians to secure entry into the State Paper Office, which did not normally admit women, making them the first wome … [Click Below for Full Description]
Bookseller: Peter Harrington. ABA/ ILAB. [London, United Kingdom]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1840