Recently found by viaLibri....
2019-11-08 21:05:05
PEAKE, Mervyn (1911-1968)
The Gormenghast Trilogy; Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone
London: Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1946, 1950, 1959. [Gothic Fantasy] FIRST EDITIONS. Three volumes, octavo (22 x 15 x 19cm), pp.438; 454; 222. Illustrated frontispiece to final volume. Elegantly hand-bound in red half calf over matching cloth sides, spine ruled in six compartments with raised bands, gilt-lettered to twin black title labels, top edges gilt. Housed in a fleece-lined slip-case with ribbon pull. Internally clean, exterior unmarked. A fine set in a handsome recent leather binding. Peake's epic adventure was the basis for the multiple BAFTA award-winning BBC adaptation, starring Celia Imrie, Ian Richardson, Christopher Lee, Zoe Wanamaker, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Stephen Fry, Eric Sykes and Spike Milligan. Bleiler; Checklist of Fantastic Literature [438]. Book Collector No.271, 'The Great Illustrators'. [Attributes: First Edition; Hard Cover]
Bookseller: Adrian Harrington Ltd, PBFA, ABA, ILAB [Royal Tunbridge Wells, KENT, United Kingdom]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri


Browse more rare books from the year 1959