viaLibri Requires Cookies CLICK HERE TO HIDE THIS NOTICE

Recently found by viaLibri....

A CLOCKWORK ORANGE.
London, Melbourne, Toronto: Heinemann, [1962]. The author's most famous book and a cornerstone of twentieth-century British fiction. "A compelling and often comic vision of the way violence comes to dominate the mind, the novel is set in a future London and is told in a curious but readable Russified argot by a juvenile delinquent whose brainwashing by the authorities has destroyed not only his murderous aggression but also a deeper-seated sense of humanity (typified by his compulsive love for the music of Beethoven), It is an ironic novel in the tradition of Yevgeny Zamiatin's and George Orwell's anti-utopias." - Clute and Nicholls (eds), The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (1993), p. 175. Octavo, boards. First edition. First binding of black boards with spine panel stamped in gold. Anatomy of Wonder (1995) 3-41. Pringle, Science Fiction: The 100 Best Novels 36. Survey of Science Fiction Literature I, pp. 396-401. A fine copy in fine first state dust jacket with price "16s / NET" at lower right corner of front flap. An excellent copy and quite uncommon in this condition. Enclosed in custom quarter black leather tray-case. (#111875)
      [Bookseller: L. W. Currey, Inc.]
Last Found On: 2012-12-27           Check availability:      Direct From Bookseller    

LINK TO THIS PAGE: www.vialibri.net/years/items/82847/1962-burgess-anthony-pseudonym-of-john-anthony-a-clockwork-orange

Browse more rare books from the year 1962


      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     561 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service     


Copyright © 2017 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.