viaLibri Requires Cookies CLICK HERE TO HIDE THIS NOTICE

Recently found by viaLibri....

Southern Cross: A Novel of the South Seas
Ward Ritchie Press, Los Angeles 1951 - 255pp. Duodecimo [18 cm] 1/4 red cloth over black boards. Title gilt stamped on backstrip. Silhouette woodcut in red on front board. Fine. Warmly inscribed by the author on the front free endsheet. Laid in is a lengthy and warm letter from the author to the inscribee.Introduction by Rockwell Kent. A wordless novel in the tradition of Frans Masereel and Lynd Ward that tells the story of an island in the South Pacific (clearly Bikini Atoll although the author states otherwise in the introduction) and the idyllic and simple lives of the native inhabitants whose lives change dramatically with the arrival of a [U.S.] military presence and atomic testing. One of the most dramatic and chilling wordless novels ever produced."The bomb, that steel-clad dove of peace, is lowered to the ocean floor. The zero hour nears. A finger presses on the key. And to the island that was Eden, to every living creature but one child of man, to the birds of the air, to the fish of the sea, comes in one blinding flash the everlasting peace of death." - from the introduction by Rockwell Kent [Attributes: First Edition; Hard Cover]
      [Bookseller: Ken Sanders Rare Books, ABAA]
Last Found On: 2014-11-29           Check availability:      AbeBooks    

LINK TO THIS PAGE: www.vialibri.net/years/items/819238/1951-hyde-laurence-southern-cross-a-novel-of-the

Browse more rare books from the year 1951


      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     561 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service     


Copyright © 2017 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.