The viaLibri website requires cookies to work properly. You can find more information in our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Recently found by viaLibri....

Signed Oath of Office as Chief Justice of the State of New York, 1790
1790 - Signed Oath of Office of an Important New York Jurist, Patriot and Anti-Federalist [Manuscript]. [Yates, Robert (1738-1801)]. [Signed Oath of Office as Chief Justice of the State of New York]. [Albany], October 9, 1790. 18-3/8" x 8-1/4" vellum document, inscribed in neat clerical hand, signed and dated by Yates and twelve other judges and the state attorney general. Light soiling, horizontal fold lines, light edgewear with a few minor chips. $2,500. * Beneath the copy of the Chief Justice's oath, signed and dated by Yates, is the oath of office as a Judge of the Court of New York State, which is signed by ten judges. Beneath that oath is one for Commissioners for taking Affidavits, signed by two officers, and, on the verso, the oath of office of Attorney General of the State of New York, signed by Morgan Lewis. Robert Yates, a Revolutionary patriot and jurist, was admitted to the bar at Albany in 1760. During the Revolution, he represented Albany in four provincial congresses and served on the committee of safety. He was one of three New York representatives to the 1787 Constitutional Convention, but he left the convention with his colleague John Lansing when they felt the delegates were overstepping their mandate to revise the Articles of Confederation, Their withdrawal left Federalist Alexander Hamilton as New York's sole delegate. In 1790, Yates was appointed the Chief Justice of New York, a post memorialized in the present document and which he held until 1798, when he reached the mandatory retirement age of 60. The ten judges who signed below their own oath of office (substantially in the same form as Yates's) feature a number New York State luminaries, including delegates to the Continental Congress, members of the state legislature, and delegates to the New York Constitutional Convention: Samuel Jones, Leonard Gansevoort, Stephen Rensselaer, John Williams, Peter Schuyler, Peter Lefferts, David Gelston, David Pye, Thomas Tillotson and Philip Van Cortlandt. [Attributes: Signed Copy]
      [Bookseller: The Lawbook Exchange, Ltd., ABAA ILAB]
Last Found On: 2017-09-23           Check availability:      ZVAB    


Browse more rare books from the year 1790

      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     563 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service      Privacy     

Copyright © 2019 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.