The viaLibri website requires cookies to work properly. You can find more information in our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Recently found by viaLibri....

Lithograph in colour, dissected into 16 sections and mounted upon original cloth, folding into original plain green card covers (Very Good, bright and clean, just some minor chipping to the neatline at one small point on the right side), 76 x 97.5 cm. - [Bangalore: Mysore Government Press], June 1915. Very rare – the first edition of the first scientific geological map of Mysore, a princely state of fabled mineral wealth, created under the supervision of William Frederick Smeeth, the director of the state’s geological department, published in Bangalore by the Mysore Government Press. - This very rare, large format map is the first edition of the first scientific geological map of the Kingdom of Mysore, one of British India’s greatest princely states, which occupied what in now south-central and south-eastern Karnataka State. The map represented the culmination of over two decades of advanced surveys on the part of the Mysore Geological Department, under the direction of William Frederick Smeeth. Mysore, the descendent of a wealthy and militarily powerful independent state that dominated Southern India, was long famed for its mineral wealth, notably by the legendary Kolar Gold Fields. On the present map all of Mysore’s geological and mineralogical wealth is revealed with scientific precision for the first time. The thematic content of the map is overlaid upon an accurate topographical template supplied by the Surveyor General’s Office of India, predicated upon the most advanced trigonometric surveys. All cities and major towns are noted, while all of the railways, including ‘broad gage’, ‘metro’, ‘other’, and ‘proposed’ are delineated. The map depicts all of Mysore’s 21 geological zones in resplendent original chromolithographed colours, detailed in the ‘Geological Index’ (lower right). The majority of the zones are under the ‘Archaen’ classification, including nos. 1-10, while within this classification are ‘Eruptive Unconformities’, nos. 11-15 and zones of ‘Eparchaen Interval’, no. 16. Under another classification are ‘Dyke Rocks’, nos. 17-20 and ‘Conglomerates’, no. 21. Additionally, the map functions as a mineralogical map, employing symbols to mark the locations of fifteen different types of mineral deposits, as explained in ‘Index to Minerals’ (lower left). These include gold, iron, manganese, chromium, copper, lead, antimony, magnetite, corundum, garnet, asbestos, mica and kaolin, fuchsite quartzite and soapstone. SEE OUR WEB PAGE FOR A LONGER DESCRIPTION.
      [Bookseller: Antiquariat Dasa Pahor]
Last Found On: 2017-09-22           Check availability:      AbeBooks    


Browse more rare books from the year 1915

      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     563 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service      Privacy     

Copyright © 2019 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.