viaLibri Requires Cookies CLICK HERE TO HIDE THIS NOTICE

Recently found by viaLibri....

[HWV 63. Judas Maccabaeus]. Frammenti degl'Oratorii Del Signor Handel. Musical manuscript. Of French provenance. After 1747
Except for the Italian text and omitted bass figures, there are no obvious differences from early editions (e.g., London: Randall, [1769]). We have been unable to trace another copy with the same Italian text (including that of the manuscript full score at the University of Louisville in the Ricersoli collection). "Handel composed Judas Maccabaeus, the planned victory oratorio, in July and August 1746. The libretto was the work of the Rev. Thomas Morell, who was to provide the words for three more oratorios and in later life left a fascinating account of his collaboration with the composer... Judas Maccabaeus opened on 1 April... It was highly successful and proved to be one of the most enduringly popular of the oratorios, though the alterations made for later revivals tended to emphasize its jubilant and military elements rather than the pleas for reconciliation and peace which Morell had thoughtfully incorporated and Handel had carefully set. The early performances also included a concerto for orchestra with two wind groups, the first of three such works partly but very effectively arranged from earlier music (especially choruses). The season seemed to mark the end of all opposition to Handel. Lord Middlesex's company returned to the King's Theatre and opened their season on 14 November 1747 with Lucio Vero, an all-Handel pasticcio, now more in tribute to the composer than in rivalry." Anthony Hicks in Grove Music Online.. Oblong folio (305 x 230 mm). [i] (title) + 23 pp. manuscript music. Notated in brown ink on 10-stave paper. In Italian, with remnants of English text in pencil. Watermark of the French papermaker Jacques Berger of Thiers incorporating grapes and the name "J Berger." With early ownership manuscript notation in French to upper margin of title: "Mlle. La C[?ette] de Coumont." Contents: f.1r: title, with blank staves; f.1v-8r: chorus "Gemi infelice popol di Sion" (Mourn, ye afflicted children); f.8v-12v: chorus "Per te Sion" (For Sion lamentation make); final two measures lacking. Scored for Violino 1o., Violino 2o., Viola, Oboë 1o., Oboë 2o., Soprano, Contralto, Tenore, Basso [vocal], Basso [instrumental - no figures]. Disbound. Slightly worn; edges browned; occasional show-through and small ink stains.
      [Bookseller: J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians LLC]
Last Found On: 2016-11-26           Check availability:      Biblio    


Browse more rare books from the year 1769

      Home     Wants Manager     Library Search     561 Years   Links     Contact      Search Help      Terms of Service     

Copyright © 2017 viaLibri™ Limited. All rights reserved.