Recently found by viaLibri....
2020-11-11 16:51:02
le Carre, John
The Spy Who Came In From The Cold.
Victor Gollancz, London, 1963. First edition of the le Carre's classic work, which went on to reinvigorate the spy genre. Octavo, original cloth. Signed by the author on the title page in a contemporary hand, "David Cornwell aka John le Carre." Near fine in a near fine dust jacket. Housed in a custom half morocco clamshell box. An exceptional example. Upon publication, John le Carre's The Spy Who Came in From the Cold forever changed the landscape of spy fiction. Le Carre combined the inside knowledge of his years in British intelligence with the skills of the best novelists to produce a story as taut as it is twisting, unlike any previously experienced. "In the tradition of Conrad, Maugham, and Greene, John Le Carre's realist spy novel is a form which represents a genuine modern version of tragedy. The Spy Who Came in From the Cold is still Le Carre's cleanest job: compact in structure, deftly deceptive in the unfolding of its triple-cross, and painfully human in the characterizations of two victims of 'our' side's necessary but evil mission" (Reilly, 933-34). "In a covert war later immortalized in John Le Carre's The Spy Who Came in From the Cold, [West and East German intelligence chiefs] conducted the battle of moles, infiltration, counter-infiltration, double agent and triple agent" (Volkman, Spies, 180). Hailed by Graham Greene as "the best spy story I have ever read." It was the basis for the 1965 film directed by Martin Ritt and starring Richard Burton, Claire Bloom, and Oskar Werner. It received several awards, including four BAFTA Awards for Best Film, Best Actor, … [Click Below for Full Description]
Bookseller: Raptis Rare Books, ABAA/ ILAB [Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.]
Check availability:

Search for more books on viaLibri

LINK TO THIS PAGE: https://www.vialibri.net/years/books/262836975/1963-le-carre-john-the-spy-who-came-in-from

Browse more rare books from the year 1963